Lori ElsassPastor

Holy Angels Pieta


The Memorial of Our Lady of Sorrows takes place the day after the Feast of the Exaltation of the Holy Cross, which is observed annually on September 14. On thethis Memorial of Our Lady of Sorrows, we venerate the Mother of the Crucified One in appreciation of the terrible grief she endured. There are seven sorrows as foretold by Simeon in the Temple when he encountered the Holy Family at the Presentation of Jesus.

  1. The prophecy of Simeon (Luke 2:25-35)
  2. The flight into Egypt (Matthew 2:13-15)
  3. Loss of the Child Jesus for three days (Luke 2:41-50)
  4. Mary meets Jesus on his way to Calvary (Luke 23:27-31; John 19:17)
  5. Crucifixion and Death of Jesus (John 19:25-30)
  6. The body of Jesus being taken from the Cross (Psalm 130; Luke 23:50-54; John 19:31-37)
  7. The burial of Jesus (Isaiah 53:8; Luke 23:50-56; John 19:38-42; Mark 15:40-47)

Mary was chosen by God to bear his Son. With that great joy and responsibility also came great sorrow. Along with her great joy and sorrow came great love for each one of us as her children. Love is what gave her the courage to accept Simeon’s prophecy. Love is what gave her the strength to embrace each sword as it pierced her heart. Love is what urged her to accept her Son’s dying request. Love is what compels her to continue caring for us tenderly, limitlessly, and faithfully.